Sun-dried Tomato and Mozzarella Stuffed Mushrooms

This recipe is inspired by Pioneer Woman and I have to say it is pretty stellar.  I don’t think I have ever used stellar in my vocabulary but these mushrooms were so cute and easy to make I thought the adjective was fitting.  I kid you not, these are the cutest little shrooms I have ever created.  They scream appetizer and are fairly easy to make.  I want to host a dinner party solely so I can serve these little buttons.

Image

Don’t you want to just pinch its cheek.

Ingredients:

1 package of white button mushrooms

1/2 cup kalamata olive diced

1/4 cup pine nuts

6 sun-dried tomatoes

1/4 cup fresh basil chopped finely

1/4 cup parsley

16 oz mozzarella

2 tbsp olive oil

4  cloves of garlic

splash of dry white wine

Method:

Image

To begin I preheated the oven to 350 and I washed and removed the stems of the mushrooms.  Removing the stems was a little tricky for me but that may be largely due to the fact that I am highly uncoordinated.  Roughly 4 mushrooms sacrificed their lives while I tried to carefully tear off the stems.

Image

I then threw the mushrooms into a skillet with 2 tbsp of olive oil.  I tossed them around for about two minutes until they were browned on all sides.  Once completed remove the mushrooms and place into a baking dish.

Image

Next, chop up the kalamata olives, sun-dried tomatoes and parsley and put them into the same skillet.  Once heated, add a splash of white wine to the mixture.  Cook for 1 to 2 minutes and then stir in the pine nuts.  Cook the mixture for 5 minutes stirring occasionally to avoid burning the pine nuts.

Image

Remove the mixture from the heat and chop up the mozzarella.  I bought the mini balls of mozzarella and simply sliced them in half.  Stuff each slice of cheese into the mushroom.

ImageImage

ImageThen take the tomato mixture and simply just pour it over the mushrooms.  Easy as that.  No need to worry about individually stuffing them.  Just make sure the mixture coats every mushroom.

Image

Bake the mushrooms in an oven for 15 minutes making sure the cheese has completely melted.  When removed, top with chopped fresh basil.

Image

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Sun-dried Tomato and Mozzarella Stuffed Mushrooms

  1. […] Recipe& credit to thehungryheron.wordpress.com […]

  2. Eve Cope says:

    I love your blog! These mushrooms look absolutely fabulous!

  3. Geraldine says:

    Yummm…looks great!

    Happy Holidays, G

Leave a comment