Mini Chicken Tostada Bites & 1 Year Anniversary

Mini Chicken Tostada Bites

So my one year anniversary of this blog occurred about 2 months ago. This whole working thing has put a real damper on my blogging but certainly not on my cooking.  I have a ton of post that have piled up on my phone that I’m waiting to draft. So…new posts coming soon!

In honor of my anniversary I’m posting one of my favorite appetizers! These tostada bites embody the whole “looks impressive isn’t impressive” notion that I love. They are a real crowd-pleaser!  Also, there are sooo many variations you can make with this.  Swap chicken for beef, or heck you can even make tiny dessert cups. If I made these again, I think I would add some diced tomato.

I stumbled upon this recipe on Pinterest. Usually I avoid these recipes cause they seem doomed for failure but this one definitely intrigued me.

Ingredients:

Tostada Cups

Flour or Corn Tortillas ( I found that an 8 inch tortilla would make 3 cups)

Olive Oil

Salt and Pepper

Mini Muffin Tins 

Method:

Preheat the over to 375 degrees.  If tortillas are cold microwave them for no longer than 20 seconds. Use a circular cutter (I may or may not have used the top of my margarita shaker) to cut out circular pieces. Once you have desired amount, brush each piece with olive oil.  Use a mini muffin tin (greased with cooking spray) and carefully place the circular piece into the tin. The Yummy Life does a far better job of explaining this process than I can ever do so please check out her site for all kinds of taco shell variations. I sprinkled some sea salt on my and popped them into the oven for 12 minutes.  They should easily slide right out.

Homemade Guacamole 

3-4 ripe avocados

salt and pepper

3 tbs lime juice freshly squeezed

2 large garlic cloves

1/2 cup small diced red onion

Hot sauce (to taste, definitely optional). 

1 tsp red wine vinegar

2 tbs cilantro 

Filling

Shredded chicken ( I used a store bought rotisserie chicken…works amazingly!)

Shredded Monterrey jack cheese (use any you would like)

Black Beans

Method:

Carefully layer chicken, guacamole, and black beans into the cups.  Sprinkle with shredded cheese.  Enjoy!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

