Chipotle Chicken Beer Chile

I often get “cook’s block.” It’s my own made up version of writer’s block. I constantly scan the internet looking for new and unique things to prepare that will “wow” my friends and family  I settle on seared shark steaks or something outrageous like octopus. Then I realize that I am too lazy to go to the shark store to pick up the shark. And the octopus store is just too far.  It’s a vicious circle of wanting to be unique and battling with the extreme laziness of a recent 20 something college graduate. 

I don’t discriminate over chili.  I like beef chili, I like spicy chili, I like white chili, heck I even could eat a bowl of vegetarian chili. The one necessity I find when it comes to chili is the tall, cold beer sitting next to your bowl. A cold beer with hot chili is a magical combination. 

One day, while bored with my usual chile dish I had a realization. I like beer….I like chili.  Let’s combine these things.  I thought I was a genius until I looked on the internet to realize this has been occurring since food was invented. 

Image

 

Recipe Inspired by Ree Drummond 

2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
1 whole Onion, Diced
4 cloves Garlic 
2 pounds Boneless Chicken Breast diced into 1 inch pieces
1 bottle Beer (Ale or IPA)
14oz can Diced Tomatoes
3 whole Chipotle Peppers In Adobo Sauce, Minced (use Less If Desired)
14oz Pinto Beans, Drained And Rinsed
14oz Black Beans, Drained And Rinsed
14oz Kidney Beans, Drained And Rinsed
1 Tablespoon Chili Powder
1 Tablespoon Ground Cumin
1 teaspoon Salt, More To Taste
5 tbsp Flour

1 Lime, Juiced
Sour Cream, For Serving
Grated Sharp Cheddar Cheese, For Serving
Cilantro

Method:

Heat olive oil in a pan until hot and add the onions and garlic. Cook for a few minutes until onions are translucent. Add the chicken and cook until lightly browned. Add in the beer and cook for another five minutes. 

Add the tomatoes, chipotles, beans, chili powder, cumin and salt. Stir to combine, cover the pot and cook for 1 hour.

Combine the flour with the 1/4 cup water and stir to make a paste. Add this into the chili, along with the lime juice. Stir and cook for 10 more minutes or until thick.

Garnish with sour cream, cilantro, and cheddar cheese. 

Serve with sour cream, cheese, cilantro, and another squeeze of lime!

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

