Eggs in Tomato Sauce for 1

 

IMG_2465

Sometimes I pretend to eat healthy.  Sometimes I pretend I am Spanish.  The latter involves me attempting to make Huevos Rancheros when I have less than half of the required ingredients. These two games I play lead me to poaching some eggs in tomato sauce, adding some spice, and calling it a day.  Surprisingly this always turns out amazing.

Ingredients:

1 can crushed tomatoes

1 can diced tomatoes

1 clove garlic

1 jalapeno (sliced and seeded)

1 slice of crusty bread

1 red bell pepper

1/2 white onion

1 tbs olive oil

1/2 cup grated Monterrey Jack cheese (Note: Cheese was not included in the picture. I did say I was trying to be healthy…)

Method:

In a large pan saute garlic and onion in 1 tbs of olive oil.  Add jalapenos, and red pepper, and cook until tender.  Add both the crushed tomatoes, and diced tomatoes and bring mixture to a boil. Season with salt and pepper. Reduce heat to a simmer and continue cooking for ten minutes.  Gently, I mean real gently, crack two eggs into the sauce. Cover the pan and cook for five minutes.  If I find the eggs to be cooking slowly I like to spoon tomato sauce over the tops of the eggs. Transfer the eggs to a bowl and top with cheese.  Enjoy with a slice of bread.

IMG_2464

I dare you to eat this for breakfast.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Eggs in Tomato Sauce for 1

  1. Deena Kakaya says:

    Gorgeous! This is the stuff I love to eat x

Leave a Reply

