Sweet Potato Carrot Ginger Soup

IMG_1922

I remember being at my best friends house at Halloween.  I was scantily clad in some outrageous Snow White costume I had purchased for an unreasonable amount of money, thinking at the age of 14 it would still classify as “cute,” and “innocent.”  Before we set off trick-or-treating my friends mother prepared us dinner.  She spooned some orange slop into a bowl and I was nervous and afraid. Orange soup was not on my list of go-to foods.  I politely brought the spoon to my mouth and smelled a sweet almost intoxicating smell.  It smelled amazing.  I took a large gulp and realized the beauty of this newfound dish.  It was creamy yet spicy and delicious and I wanted more and more.  Sweet Potato soup was one of my first inspirations to cook. I didn’t want to leave.  How could snickers and three musketeers bars compare to this delectable substance?

I often think about that night and am thankful I learned at an early age not to dress up as a disney princess on Halloween.  I am also thankful I learned the beauty of Sweet Potato Soup.

Sweet Potato Carrot Ginger Soup

Ingredients: 

1 Large Sweet Potato peeled and cubed

4 cups chicken broth

3 large carrots 

2 tbsp minced ginger

2tsp coriander

2tsp cardamon

1tsp red pepper flakes

pinch cayenne pepper

1 onion diced

salt and pepper 

1/4 cup light cream

In a large pot cook onion and olive until onion is browned and golden about five minutes.  Add minced ginger and cook for thirty seconds.  Add sweet potatoes and carrots and sauté until softened.  Add the chicken broth and bring mixture to a boil.  Once the mixture has reached boiling point, turn down the heat and simmer for 20 minutes.  Add coriander, cardamon, red pepper, cayenne, and salt and pepper.  Once potatoes are tender remove from heat and let the mixture cool.  Once cooled blend the mixture in a blender until it is combined and thick.  Transfer the soup back into the pot and cook on low heat.  Add 1/4 cup cream and stir until all is blended.  Serve warm.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Carrot Ginger Soup

  1. Geraldine says:

    sounds delish, great photo!

Leave a Reply

