Grilled Red Peppers with Spicy Yogurt Sauce

ImageI am a huge fan of grilled red peppers.  I think that they are a top food that is begging to be grilled. They are similar to roasted red peppers except they have that great grill taste that everyone loves.  Grilling intensifies the vegetable flavor and is a great solution for those non meat eaters out there. Now I normally just marinate them in basic italian dressing and pop them on the grill, but I happened to stumble upon this sauce recipe and was intrigued.  I have to be honest, I did not have high hopes.  I thought it would be a flop…yogurt and red peppers somehow don’t go in my mind.  BUT when I tried them together it was unbelievable.  SO good that I think I will always make them this way!!

Ingredients: 

4-5 red bell peppers

1 cup Italian Dressing

Italian Dressing

3/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

1 clove of garlic

2 tsp dijon mustard

1/4 teaspoon salt 

Rosemary Yogurt Sauce

2 tbsp fresh rosemary or dried 

1 cup greek yogurt

2 tbsp olive oil

1 clove garlic

3 squirts Sriracha* (optional)

Cilantro (for garnish) 

Method:

Chop the bell peppers into 1-2 inch thick pieces and spread into a baking dish or a bowl.  Make sure to scoop out the seeds.  I like to cut them in half so they cook evenly and I don’t have to worry about turning them.  Of course, you can grill them whole as well.

Image

Marinate the peppers with 1 cup of the italian dressing mixture.  Let the peppers marinate for 1-2 hours.

Image

Now throw the peppers onto a very hot grill!  Grill for roughly 20 minutes.  Don’t worry the peppers should be charred and black…that means they are gooood!  Excuse the smoke in my photo.  A little hard to get a good picture when they are smoking.  This is a shot after roughly ten minutes.

Image

I actually prefer to keep the skins on the peppers because I feel that it captures the essence of the grill flavors.  While the peppers are cooling prepare the yogurt sauce by mixing the yogurt, olive oil, garlic, and rosemary.

Image

Image

So now is the moment when I tasted the sauce and thought it needed just a little pick me up.  So I added a few drops of Sriracha to spice it up.  So its up to you, i’m sure it is delicious both ways.  When finished with the sauce, top it over the  red peppers or set it aside to be used as a dipping sauce.  I sprinkles some leaves of fresh cilantro on top as a garnish.

Image

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

