Labor Day Burgers with Arugula and Sriracha Yogurt Sauce

Image

The day is dreary, the forecast is rain but that doesn’t stop the burgers from being made.  Even if I have to hold an umbrella and grill at the same time.   I wanted to create a sauce to make the burgers stand out from the standard kind.  I had a container of FAGE greek yogurt which is one of my favorites.  It has no fat yet is still a thick, and creamy consistency.  I always eat them for breakfast with a little honey to naturally sweeten the tart yogurt.

Image

To begin I scooped the yogurt into the  bowl and added a couple squirts of Sriracha sauce to taste.  I then chopped a handful of cilantro, diced 2 cloves of garlic.  I added the cilantro and garlic and the juice of half a lime.  Stir all the ingredients together until it is smooth and creamy.  I love this recipe.  Creamy and thick yet no mayo!

ImageNow onto the burger.  I combined two pounds of ground beef with half an onion diced finely.  I try to steer away from the extra lean meat because I find that the taste slowly becomes well….awful.

Image I then added 2 tbsp of ketchup, 2 tbsp of yellow mustard, 1 tbsp of Worcestershire sauce, 2 tbsp breadcrumbs and 2tbsp horseradish sauce.  Phew, that was a lot of tablespoons.  Sprinkle salt and pepper over the mixture and work it together with your hands.

ImageAfter the meat is well worked through and mixed, form patties with your hands no more than 3/4 inch thick.

ImageHeat up your grill and place the patties onto the grill.  Try to keep the lid closed for as along as possible.  I like to cook the meat until juices form at the top and then flip them.  Usually about 3-5 minutes on each side.  I also like to add the cheese (of your choice, I used provolone) to the burgers about a minute before they are done.

Image

To be honest, I got a little worried because the burgers seemed to be falling apart.  I read that if you add egg to the meat mixture it will help to keep them together.  Definitely will try that next time.  In the end, they came out just fine!

Top the burgers with the yogurt Sriracha sauce, arugula, and tomato.   Happy Labor Day!!! Now get off of your feet!

Image

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

