Eli Cannon’s Tap Room — Middletown, CT

Image

Eli Cannons is the perfect bar for me.  No excessive moshing and no parting of the red sea to order a drink are high on my list of necessities.  This bar located in downtown Middletown, CT is a local joint with great beer, good food, and a fantastic atmosphere.

Let’s start with beer.  By great beer, I mean epic beer.  Eli Cannons has 36 draft lines rotating daily to ensure quality, freshness, and diversity.  I’m quite a fan of quality beer and every time I visit I am faced with an amazing tap list.  Here’s what was available saturday evening…ImageStouts and porters are hands down my favorite kind of beer but in the summer I have to stick to the IPAs.  My brother and I settled on Maine Beer Co. Peeper Ale and Weyerbacher Double Simcoe IPA.  I love going for unique beers but notable choices are Green Flash West Coast IPA, New England Sea Hag IPA, and Two Roads Road 2 Ruin IPAImageOk now for the atmosphere.  The inside is a hodge podge combo of your grandma’s attic and the pawn stars shop.  Seriously I don’t know how they end up with these trinkets.  BUT it works.  It’s an amazing array of memorabilia and I notice something new every time….like this beer/mardi gras chandelier for example.

Image

ImageBehind the bar is lined with custom mugs owned by the greatest beer gods of CT.

So this inside is phenomenal but the outside is what draws the crowds.  After all, not many CT bars can boast an outdoor beach fully equipped with sand toys and buckets.  I kid you not.  Beach chairs and palm trees are placed in the outside beach/patio where crowds gather to enjoy beers and food.

Image

Image

Magical.  Staying at Eli Cannons all day drinking and building an epic sandcastle is definitely something on my bucket list.  I ordered one more drink, Coronado’s Frog’s Breath(below) while my brother enjoyed a cigar ( another perk of an outdoor setting.) Image

Eli Cannons is a true local gem of Connecticut.  If you dig good beers and good times (cheesy statement) definitely check this bar out, especially in the summer time for the beach aspect.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

