Roasted Red Pepper Pasta

Image

So I lied.  I only had two red peppers but I happened to have two yellow peppers as well.  Red and yellow make orange so we can call it Roasted Orange Pepper Pasta.  I love this sauce.  I also needed an excuse to use my new purchase — Italian Harvest Capricci pasta.  

Image

Image

Look at the fun shape!

I already needed to roast some red peppers because I was making my crab cakes.  So it was the perfect excuse to make some red pepper sauce…sorry orange pepper sauce, gotta be accurate.

I began by roasting the peppers (duh).  I chopped off the tops of the peppers and cleaned the insides out.  I flattened them out on baking sheet and drizzled the peppers with olive oil and salt and pepper.

Image

Now it’s time to broil!  I usually broil the peppers for ten minutes until they are are charred and black.

Image

Place the peppers into a large bowl and cover with saran wrap.   I happen to have a vendetta against saran warp because it doesn’t work.  I feel like its a trick they are playing with us humans.  Does anyone else feel this way?  Well anyway, this step is important because it allows the peppers to steam and their skins loosen.

Image

I usually let them sweat for 10-20 minutes.  Once they are finished with their sauna remove the peppers from the bowl.  I find their skin will slide off easily if you slice the center with a knife.

Image

Slice the peppers into thin strips.

Image

Throw some butter into pan and sauté the onions and garlic.

Imagemmmmm….

Image

Does anything smell better than onions and garlic? Next add the peppers.

Image

Cook the peppers for about five minutes.  Then transfer the mixture to a food processor or blender.

Pulse the mixture until it is all pureed.  I like mine to still be a little bit chunky.  Texture never hurt anyone.

Image

Transfer the mixture back to the pan and add chicken broth.

Image

Next add the cream and wine.  Accent with a red pepper flakes and fresh basil.

Image

Pour sauce over pasta of your choice and serve with parmesan cheese.

Ingredients: 

4 Bell Peppers

Olive Oil

Salt and Pepper

12 oz pasta of your choice

1/2 onion

3 cloves of garlic

1 cup chicken broth

1/4 cup light cream

1/3 cup dry wine

Handful Fresh Basil

Parmesan Cheese 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

