Hunan Chicken

Image

This is a dish that you can’t make to regularly because once you make it, it’s so good that all your other food tastes awful.  I got this recipe from Bon Appetit and immediately had to try it because I’m quite a fan of spiciness.  Actually the real reason I made it is because I am really amped about my recent purchase of Sriracha Chili Garlic sauce and this recipe actually calls for chili garlic sauce…which is kinda rare.  I also quadrupled this recipe which is really embarrassing  if you think about it but four servings doesn’t cut it these days. ImageHere is the garlic sauce.  It is very similar to regular Sriracha sauce except ultra heavy on the garlic.  I have a feeling this would be amazing on pizza.   I happen to think it is spicier than the regular sauce…others who shall not be named do not.

To begin slice chicken into thin strips and combine it in a large bowl with soy sauce, cornstarch.  The cornstarch will thicken the sauce and allow it to fully coat the chicken.

Image

In a smaller bowl, whisk together soy sauce, cornstarch, white vinegar,  3 tbsp water, sesame oil, and sugar. Image

Put this mixture aside and heat peanut oil in a large skillet ( use a wok, I wish I had a wok) until it is very hot.  Add the chicken to the skillet and stir-fry the mixture for 2 minutes.  Remove chicken from the pan with a slotted spoon and transfer to a medium bowl.

Add green onions, chili sauce, garlic and ginger to the skillet and cook for two minutes.

Image

Add chicken and the soy sauce mixture to the skillet and cook until chicken is fully cooked through ( roughly five minutes).

Image

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Hunan Chicken

  1. lararothman says:

    ooh yum! I’ll try this one for sure. My husband and I love spicy food.

  2. Ambro Wright says:

    Human chicken!! Sorry, I couldn’t resist! For some reason I actually thought it was called “human” until I actually read the menu at the Chinese restaurant one day. Anyway, looks like something my husband would love. Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

