Lemon Thumbprint Cookies with Raspberry Jam

Image

I really dislike baking as I have previous stated in my post on Nutella cookies. I take that back semi…I like baking, I’m just not very good at it.  It must be something about the need for exact measurements and the fact that my hands always get dirty and greasy.  I wish I was good at it.  But rest assured I have been practicing.  Last night I made thumbprint cookies that were so delectable and buttery there is barely any left.  These can really be made with any jam or jelly.  I happened to have raspberry. 

Ingredients:

2 sticks unsalted butter at room temperature

zest of one lemon

juice of one lemon

1/4 tsp salt

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour

2 large egg yolks

1/2 cup sugar

Raspberry Jam (approximately 8 tbsp) 

Image

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a large bowl beat sugar and butter until creamy and soft.  At times like this I wish with all my might that I had a stand alone mixer but my 1980s electric beater will have to do for now.  I keep waiting for the day that bad boy bites the dust.  It never will. Image

Next, beat in the egg yolks to the mixture and add the lemon zest and lemon juice. 

Image

 

When the mixture is smooth and fully blended, slowly add the flour in batches.  When the dough has fully mixed, form it into a ball. 

Image

 

Form the dough into little balls and place on a well greased cookie sheet. 

Image

Ain’t that cute.   Next, use the back of a spoon, preferably rounded like the back of a measuring spoon to make a small indentation into the balls.  They should flatten out like a regular cookie.  Don’t be afraid to make the indentation deep.

Image

Now if you have a pastry decorating bag that would be fabulous.  If not you can pull the ghetto route and use a ziplock bag and cut out the corner.  Fill the bag with the jam and gently squirt jam into the holes.Image

 

Be careful not to overfill the cookies because the jam will bubble and spill over.  Bake the cookies for 15 minutes or until golden brown. 

This makes about 35 cookies.

Image

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

