Old Bay Chicken Wings

I recently wrote an Ode to Old Bay which in turn inspired me to make Old Bay Chicken wings.  If you’re a wing fan I highly recommend this recipe.  These are perfect for Super Bowl Parties, or parties in general…or for sitting in front of the couch by yourself watching housewives.

Image

Ingredients 

1 pound chicken wings

1/4 cup Old Bay Seasoning and 1 tbsp. reserved for dusting

1/3 cup All Purpose Flour

1/4 Frank’s Red Hot Sauce

1/2  Worcestershire Sauce

1 tbsp. Unsalted Butter

Image

Preheat the over to 425 degrees.  Pat the wings dry with a paper towel.  Don’t they look like they have their arms around each other? How cute?  Whisk together flour and Old Bay.  The ratios are extremely flexible depending on your preferences.  Individually coat the wings in the flour mixture and place on a non stick baking sheet.

Image

Bake for 40 minutes at until the wings crisp.  Side note, I find the wings to be slightly noisy while baking.  Lots of sizzling, cracking, and screaming.  When done, the wings should be crispy.  Don’t worry about the flour still being on the wings.  It will come off in the later steps.

Image

 While the wings are cooling prepare the sauce by mixing Frank’s Red Hot Sauce and Worcestershire Sauce.  Add melted butter to thicken the mixture.  Again, the ratios of these ingredients are very flexible.  I recommend sneaking a few tastes to see how it is.  PS. try not to inhale Frank’s down your windpipe.  I may or may not have done that and almost needed medical attention.  Generously smother the wings in the sauce.  I hate using the word smother because it makes me think of smothering butter on an Olive Garden breadstick, but seriously smother these wings.

Image

Arrange on a dish and serve immediately!  Image

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Old Bay Chicken Wings

  1. lararothman says:

    I love Old Bay. I even sprinkle it on Popcorn sometimes.

  2. lararothman says:

    Oh! I forgot to mention, I have nominated your for a Liebster Award.
    http://nomstheword.me/2013/08/20/who-was-nominated-for-a-liebster-this-girl/
    I think your blog is great. Keep it up!

  3. I have been checking out a few of your stories and i must say nice stuff. I will make sure to bookmark your site.
    mulberry danmark http://www.gavevind.dk/

Leave a Reply

