The Taco Truck — Boston Public Library

First Lesson:  When ordering from a Taco Truck, always order three not two.  Rookie mistake.  I’ve never really been one to skimp on food.  I’m usually dabbing up the last morsels with my index finger. Sometimes I casually dip my solo chop stick in the soy sauce dish at sushi restaurants. I should probably stop doing that, it could be offensive. I don’t know what came over me when I ordered two tacos rather than the obvious choice of three. For now, I blame it on the rain.  I’m not going to lie and say I’m a Mexican food expert. (Let’s be real…I am a white girl from Connecticut).  The employees probably caught on to me  with my fabulous pronunciation of Pollo Asado (POLE-OH—A SAY DOH).

On to the taco…

Pollo Asado

Three things drew me into this truck.

1. The line of approximately 11 people…gotta be good.

2. The fact that I crave salsa at all times of my life.

3. A sticker comes free with your order.

Each included guajillo marinated grilled chicken with lime-pickled onions and roasted salsa. Yeah I don’t know what guagillo means but I’m into it. Guacamole is always a necessity, so I sprung for the 75 cent extra garnish. The roasted salsa was filled with cilantro (like it should be) and the lime was crucial for that needed refreshing kick. The pickled onions topped the taco, eventually mixing in with the salsa to create a tangy yet sweet combination. I finished these bad boys in approximately two minutes and managed to to have guacamole on my hands, face, jeans etc. (Note: napkins next time).

With my belly filled with taco and my head racing with thoughts of that third, I sadly left the scene green-gauc handed.  Till next time Taco Truck….

Visit http://www.thetacotruck.com/ and find out when it’s closest to you!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

